An award-winning writer tells all: “These paragraphs have made me fall in love with writing the book”

For nearly a month I have been holding something very special to me close to my heart. I won an award but I haven’t been bold enough to show it off. Either a) I’m a little nervous that if I do someone will come and knock me back into my place. I think that’s indicative of a deeper problem. Or b) I’ve tried to wear a cloak of humility and discovered it’s shrunk a little and now I want to cast it aside, for which I hope you will forgive me. Or c) Timothy Pike has written this post in ‘What Inspires Your Writing’ and I now feel brave enough to share it.

It feels good to be proud of something I have done, now I would love for others to enjoy my story.

A huge thank you to Timothy for sharing this and creating the ChapterBuzz challenge, as well as to all those who voted for me.

What Inspires Your Writing?

Author Liberty Henwick Congratulations to Liberty Henwick! This talented crime novelist won the “Fan Favorite” award for her story-in-progress, P.S., during March’s 10,000-word writing challenge on ChapterBuzz.

Here she is to tell us how she does it!


Want feedback on your story? That’s what ChapterBuzz is for! Your readers can tell you what they think, allowing you to craft the perfect novel.
P.S. is the story of magazine journalist Jennifer Pendergast, who inadvertently uncovers a crime ring in Johannesburg that leads her into a dangerous poaching arena. As she follows the trail, she realizes that everything she loves will be at stake?and fights hard not to become a victim herself.

Here’s how P.S. starts out:

Jennifer Pendergast had twenty-two pairs of heels?one pair of shoes for each working day of the month plus two extra. And twenty-two different lipstick shades?which she picked not according to their colour…

View original post 615 more words

6 Comments Add yours

  1. atimetoshare.me says:

    Good for you! Congrats on your award.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for that and thanks for your kind comments always.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. C.J. Black says:

    Many congratulations, richly deserved.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s very kind, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Liberty, congratulations on your well-deserved award. It’s not even one year since you participated in my CW course at Wexford library and look how far you’ve come. Keep her lit, Liberty, I’m looking forward to your finished novel 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Fiona. I’ve never felt so proud of myself in my life! It is slow going with the book and I know I have a whole lot of work ahead but I’m trying not to think about that. Just enjoying the journey at the moment. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

