Project Write, Travel

One Year Later

107_1907.JPG
Kalk Bay harbour from the Harbour House Restaurant, April 2017

I have been anticipating this moment for the past few months with some mild yet bemused excitement. We are on holiday in South Africa but this is just a vast beautiful backdrop to the event that has been foremost on my mind. My blog has finally turned one year old!

It seems strange that this milestone carries more weight in my mind than a three week holiday in the sun, however, it’s a significant milestone for me because for the first time since I started having babies nearly 15 years ago, I am creating something else that brings me more joy than I could have possibly imagined.

I notice my very first blog post was a recollection of a journey my husband and I took to the Okavango 17 years ago and here I am in Africa again, marvelling at what a journey this past year has been for me. Back then I didn’t know how much I loved writing and how much I am looking forward to the places it will take me in the future.

It has provided me with a new passion at the not so tender age of 45. It has offered me the opportunity to learn and be mentally stimulated – I have taken some writing courses. In March I undertook to embark on a 10k writing challenge and succeeded in completing it in less than a month as well as win an award. Now I have the beginnings of a novel and I am excited to see it through to the end.

I am sort of learning to take pride in myself and what I have done which, I admit, is an ill fitting garment.

I had hoped that before this year was up I would somehow have reached 100 followers, I did last week! So here are two more little badges I can stitch on to my brownie uniform just to inspire and encourage myself not to give up. I’m not sure I could give it up now anyway, I love it too much.

100badge anniversary-2x

14 thoughts on “One Year Later”

Leave a Reply

