Food

The Best 15 Minute Chocolate Biscuit Cake recipe -I’ve tried hundreds!

20170314_133035.jpg
last slice standing

Apologies for the photo quality, I’d rather eat my food than take pictures of it.

Chocolate Biscuit Cake is one of my (many) weaknesses- I hope heaven is filled with chocolate biscuit cake because then I’d eat it non-stop and never worry about my shape. I craved it just after I had my first baby and I wouldn’t be surprised if my milk was chocolate flavoured. I stopped when my baby got spots and the midwife said, “Have you been eating chocolate?” (Oh the misery!)

This recipe really did only take me 15 minutes to make. It needs four hours afterwards to set though.

You could make this with dark chocolate and leave out the cocoa for an extremely rich cake – you may feel a bit sick if you eat too much. Adding walnuts makes it kind of posh, which I feel is necessary for impressing visitors. And it’s sort of healthy as it has raisins in too.

So this is what you need:

  • A loaf tin
  • 200gm good milk chocolate
  • 125gm butter
  • 75gm golden syrup
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 egg
  • 50gm digestive biscuits
  • 100gm ‘Rich Tea’ or ‘Marie’ biscuits
  • 50gm roughly chopped walnuts
  • 50gm raisins

And this is how you do it:

  1. Set a double boiler on the stove (quicker to heat if you boil a kettle first and use the water).
  2. Add chocolate broken into blocks.
  3. Next throw in the butter, syrup and cocoa.
  4. Grease and line the tin with baking paper while you wait for the chocolate to melt
  5. Stir the pot a few times.
  6. Bash biscuits roughly in a bowl (I use a pestle and a bowl larger than my mortar)
  7. Stir the pot a bit more.
  8. Add walnuts and raisins to bashed biscuits.
  9. Once the chocolate mix is smooth, break the raw egg into the hot mixture and stir gently to pasteurize the egg.
  10. Pour melted chocolate mix over biscuit mix, stir all together and pour into the loaf tin.
  11. Seriously, leave it in the fridge to set for at least four hours.

To serve, turn it out of the tin and slice. Leave a few pieces for your guests.

 

2 thoughts on “The Best 15 Minute Chocolate Biscuit Cake recipe -I’ve tried hundreds!”

Leave a Reply

