I’ve Stopped Feeding the Kids

shopping
Processed food to the left, veggies to the right.

Multiple choice: Would you rather a) Visit the dentist OR b) Take four discontent children with you to do your weekly grocery shop? Some people have been known to punch their dentist (actually my neighbour – he told me). I haven’t punched my children after shopping with them but I do get a tiny bit stressed out; and have also bought things I don’t usually buy during those other kid free times when I’m able to think and shop at the same time. It’s the credit card then that feels the hit and not the kids then. So I have come up with a scheme during the school holidays which means that a) I don’t buy food for my children for a day, b) I don’t cook for my children for 24 hours and c) they don’t complain about my cooking (WIN!!)

Actually my Mother deserves the credit for this one as she did this a couple of times with us when we were little. She gave us the nominal sum of around R10 to buy ourselves our food for a day and sent us off on our bicycles to the local campsite to cook and eat it. We were allowed to pick what ever grew wild to supplement our dinner and we knew of a spot on the way to the site where  a stream ran out to the ocean and we could harvest our own supply of watercress. In 1984 the South African Rand was on parity with the US dollar which meant that R10 could buy you a loaf of bread, a tin of beans, an orange and some sausages (but I can’t remember if that was per person or for three of us). This year in January though, due to inflation and depreciation, the Rand hit an all time low of R 17.9169 to the US dollar. Nowadays one dollar will cost you about R14 and a 500gm loaf of white bread is around R12.

So, once a week during the school holidays my kids buy their own food for a day, they cook it too which is a double bonus. This is how it works: I divide our weekly grocery budget by seven days and then by the six people in our family. This is roughly our daily budget per person. They then have to buy all their meals for the day for this amount and it’s quite difficult. In the process they have learnt a huge amount. Firstly, it’s more cost effective to pair up with your sibling and double your money or even better combine all four together. Secondly, my kids have learnt to be a bit savvy with pricing and value per kg or per litre. Thirdly they have had to add up with a pencil and paper or in their heads when they forget the calculator, so they are unknowingly doing homework during the hols. Fourth it’s very empowering – they take such pride in their food choices and the cooking of it. Fifth the kids co-operate and negotiate with one another over such things as who can use the cooker when, or how to set multiple timings on the oven. Sixth they see how valuable it is to budget as well as how expensive treats and desserts are compared to essential food items. Seventh meal times are so relaxing for me, I’m only cooking for two and they never ask me what time dinner is as they can cook whenever they like.

I try not to get too involved in their choices but do lend a hand to the younger ones if necessary. However, I generally don’t see them much during the time we are all in the supermarket. It’s soo peaceful. The only limitation I set is that they need to buy some fresh item of fruit or veg. They are allowed to pick any herbs or veg from the garden (not often much there though) and they can use butter, mayonnaise and ketchup or other sauces from the fridge.

What is noticeable to me is how cheap it is to buy processed food. Tinned spaghetti, pizza and chips costs far less than a fresh salad and a cut of meat, which is criminal really if you think about it. Kids love junk though and it’s seen as a treat. The funniest part of it all is the concerned looks the littlest ones get from other mothers in the shop. It’s not every day you see a couple of young unattended kids discussing what they should buy for their supper. Today the cashier was really sweet, she took time out to explain to the girls how they could go online and enter a survey rating the supermarket’s performance which could win them €100, for them a small fortune or a whole trolley load of pizza and chips.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. joan says:

    Ha this is brilliant Liberty… why did I not think of this when my two were small…. I hated doing the shopping with them. I always add in my head as I go along so as not to overspend, so any disturbance from them and I loose track of how much was in the trolly and could end up embarrassing when I get to the check out…. I love the photo 🙂 soo funny

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Joan, I can’t add up in my head, and using a calculator is sort of embarrassing but running out of money at the till is also. There have been a couple of times that I’ve had to put things back after the total comes up. 🙂

      Like

  2. taanieblog says:

    Oh Liberty I love this idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robs says:

    So brilliant Libs! I should definitely try that!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so much fun Robs, your kids would love it.

      Like

  4. EmmaJoy says:

    Such a great idea! I definitely had a lot less complaining coming my way over supper choices once I taught my boys how to cook and they realised how much effort goes into it. I’ve never made them pay for their own meals but I have made them choose what they are going to cook, write the shopping list and then come with me to shop so they can get the full experience. All the fun things we get to do as Moms!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the way they have to figure out their budget too as it’s taught them to appreciate the cost. I hope they also experience the washing up?!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. John Casey says:

    Great post Liberty I like your thinking .

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 83unsungheroes says:

    Even as someone who works in the tinned food industry, I agree about the cost. I remember the first time I properly tried to eat healthily after uni and was staggered at the cost and subsequent waste when I hadn’t planned properly. This looks like a great idea for the kids!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve realised that shopping smart is quite an art! It’s also not surprising that poverty leads to malnutrition and disease.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

