Grense – Boundaries

It is nearly thirty years since I copied this poem in to my book of favourite writings, I came across it today and still think it’s lovely.

Grense

My naakte siel wil sonder skrome
in alle eenvoud tot jou gaan,
soos uit diepe slaap ons drome,
soos teen skemerlug die bome
opreik na die bloue maan;

gaan met al sy donker wense,
en die heilige, nooit-gehoorde
dinge sê, waarvoor die mense
huiwer, en wat om die grense
flikker van my duister woorde.

© NP van Wyk Louw

Translated into English it says:

Boundaries

My bared soul wants without qualm
in all its plainness to come to you,
as our dreams from deep slumber do,
as trees in dusk-light do
reaching for the azure moon;

will with all his opaque wishes,
and the sacred too, never-heard things
say, that which people shy away
from, and which coruscates ’round
the boundaries of my turbid words.

© Chantelle Gray van Heerden

Leave a Reply

